Skip Navigation Links
Text Size


Mission Momentum . . .
Accelerate. Empower. Mobilize.

Advocacy Update

Two provisions were inserted into the 2017 National Defense Authorization Act (S.2943) that would effectively halt the progress made by the Department of Defense’s Congressionally Directed Medical Research Program (CDMRP) and jeopardize the health of military families and veterans. The proposal would have blocked the DoD from researching the medical needs of military families and veterans (section 756) and subjected doctors and scientists to the level of scrutiny currently reserved for complex, multi-million dollar weapons systems (section 898). This would needlessly bog down their research in months – or even years – of additional bureaucracy.

Senator Dick Durbin (IL) lead a bipartisan group of Senators from across the country to remove these provisions so this life-saving research can continue.  The TS Alliance, along with other members of the CDMRP coalition, participated in the #ResearchNotRedTape campaign initiated by Senator Durbin’s office.  A call to action asking the grassroots community to contact their Senators in support of Senator Durbin’s amendment to withdraw sections 756 and 898 of S.2943 was circulated.

The Durbin Amendment passed in the Senate by a vote of 66-32.  This amendment ensures the Congressionally Directed Medical Research Program (CDMRP) will still be able to conduct research, including the Tuberous Sclerosis Complex Research Program (TSCRP).  You can find out how your Senators voted on this important amendment below.  YEAs voted in favor of the Durbin amendment.  NAYs were against it.   

For additional information, Click here

Additionally, 41 Senators were Cosponsors: S.Amdt.4369 — 114th Congress (2015-2016)

* = Original cosponsor

Sen. Cochran, Thad [R-MS]*
Sen. Reid, Harry [D-NV]*
Sen. Blunt, Roy [R-MO]*
Sen. Mikulski, Barbara A. [D-MD]*
Sen. Murkowski, Lisa [R-AK]*
Sen. Feinstein, Dianne [D-CA]*
Sen. Collins, Susan M. [R-ME]*
Sen. Murray, Patty [D-WA]*
Sen. Casey, Robert P., Jr. [D-PA]*
Sen. Shelby, Richard C. [R-AL]*
Sen. Gillibrand, Kirsten E. [D-NY]
Sen. Baldwin, Tammy [D-WI]
Sen. Bennet, Michael F. [D-CO]
Sen. Markey, Edward J. [D-MA]
Sen. Brown, Sherrod [D-OH]
Sen. Leahy, Patrick J. [D-VT]
Sen. Hirono, Mazie K. [D-HI]
Sen. Reed, Jack [D-RI]
Sen. Menendez, Robert [D-NJ]
Sen. Tester, Jon [D-MT]
Sen. Coons, Christopher A. [D-DE]
Sen. Kirk, Mark Steven [R-IL]
Sen. Klobuchar, Amy [D-MN]
Sen. Udall, Tom [D-NM]
Sen. Boxer, Barbara [D-CA]
Sen. Schatz, Brian [D-HI]
Sen. Moran, Jerry [R-KS]
Sen. Sanders, Bernard [I-VT]
Sen. Warren, Elizabeth [D-MA]
Sen. Cardin, Benjamin L. [D-MD]
Sen. Schumer, Charles E. [D-NY]
Sen. Shaheen, Jeanne [D-NH]
Sen. Stabenow, Debbie [D-MI]
Sen. Peters, Gary C. [D-MI]
Sen. Franken, Al [D-MN]
Sen. Merkley, Jeff [D-OR]
Sen. Nelson, Bill [D-FL]
Sen. Wyden, Ron [D-OR]
Sen. Booker, Cory A. [D-NJ]
Sen. Heinrich, Martin [D-NM]

Grouped By Vote Position

YEAs - 66

Alexander (R-TN)
Ayotte (R-NH)
Baldwin (D-WI)
Bennet (D-CO)
Blumenthal (D-CT)
Blunt (R-MO)
Booker (D-NJ)
Boozman (R-AR)
Boxer (D-CA)
Brown (D-OH)
Burr (R-NC)
Cantwell (D-WA)
Capito (R-WV)
Cardin (D-MD)
Carper (D-DE)
Casey (D-PA)
Cassidy (R-LA)
Cochran (R-MS)
Collins (R-ME)
Coons (D-DE)
Donnelly (D-IN)
Durbin (D-IL)

Feinstein (D-CA)
Franken (D-MN)
Gardner (R-CO)
Gillibrand (D-NY)
Grassley (R-IA)
Heinrich (D-NM)
Heitkamp (D-ND)
Heller (R-NV)
Hirono (D-HI)
Hoeven (R-ND)
Isakson (R-GA)
Johnson (R-WI)
Kaine (D-VA)
King (I-ME)
Kirk (R-IL)
Klobuchar (D-MN)
Leahy (D-VT)
Manchin (D-WV)
Markey (D-MA)
McCaskill (D-MO)
Menendez (D-NJ)
Merkley (D-OR)

Mikulski (D-MD)
Moran (R-KS)
Murkowski (R-AK)
Murphy (D-CT)
Murray (D-WA)
Nelson (D-FL)
Peters (D-MI)
Portman (R-OH)
Reed (D-RI)
Reid (D-NV)
Schatz (D-HI)
Schumer (D-NY)
Shaheen (D-NH)
Shelby (R-AL)
Stabenow (D-MI)
Tester (D-MT)
Thune (R-SD)
Udall (D-NM)
Warren (D-MA)
Whitehouse (D-RI)
Wicker (R-MS)
Wyden (D-OR)

NAYs - 32

Barrasso (R-WY)
Coats (R-IN)
Corker (R-TN)
Cornyn (R-TX)
Cotton (R-AR)
Crapo (R-ID)
Cruz (R-TX)
Daines (R-MT)
Enzi (R-WY)
Ernst (R-IA)
Fischer (R-NE)

Flake (R-AZ)
Graham (R-SC)
Hatch (R-UT)
Inhofe (R-OK)
Lankford (R-OK)
Lee (R-UT)
McCain (R-AZ)
McConnell (R-KY)
Paul (R-KY)
Perdue (R-GA)
Risch (R-ID)

Roberts (R-KS)
Rounds (R-SD)
Rubio (R-FL)
Sasse (R-NE)
Scott (R-SC)
Sessions (R-AL)
Sullivan (R-AK)
Tillis (R-NC)
Toomey (R-PA)
Vitter (R-LA)

Not Voting - 2

Sanders (I-VT)

Warner (D-VA)


Join Our Government Action Team

If you haven't done so, join our Government Action Team now! Also, be sure to use our Government Advocacy Toolkit for documents to help you schedule your appointments and other helpful items.

Need More Information?

Please contact Katie Smith at (800) 225-6872 or if you have any questions.  We look forward to speaking to you then. 

  Skip Navigation Links
Find a Local Branch
Find a Global Alliance
Become a Volunteer
Become a Member
Government Outreach
Connect With Others
Ways to Give
Your Impact
Facebook YouTube Google+ Twitter TSAlliance Support Linkedin Instagram
Make a Donation to the Tuberous Sclerosis Alliance

Your Journey with TSC: You Are Not Alone
Tuberous Sclerosis Alliance Overview
La Esclerosis Tuberosa (Spanish Intro to TSC)

What is TSC?
How is TSC Diagnosed?
Signs of TSC
Genetics of TSC

Living with TSC
Family Support
Adult Resources

TSC Connect
Brochures & Booklets
Information Sheets
Life Stages Guides & Personal Journals

Perspective Magazine Archives
TSC Clinics

TS Alliance Grants Program
Other TSC Funding Opportunities
TSC Alert Newsletter Archives
Clinical Trials
TSC Natural History Database
Research Resources
International Scientific Advisory Board

Tuberous Sclerosis Alliance Online CommunityTuberous Sclerosis Alliance Support Community  

Great NonProfits 2016 National Organization for Rare Disorders Rare Disease Report GuideStar Exchange Gold Participant The Arc Combined Federal Campaign